The South Metro Fire Board Seeks Public Board Member Applicants - Applications Closed

The South Metro Fire Department protects the citizens of South St. Paul and West St. Paul through a Joint Powers Agreement. The Department is governed by a five-member Board of Directors consisting of two current council members from each City and a Public Member. Current Board members include Mayor James Francis and Council Member Tom Seaberg from the City of South St. Paul and Mayor Dave Napier and Council Member Wendy Berry from the City of West St. Paul. 

The current term for the Public Board Member expires on March 31, 2024. The South Metro Fire Department now seeks qualified applicants for a two-year term on its Board of Directors, as the Public Member. The Public Member may not be an employee of either City, a resident of either City, nor have been employed in the fire service of any governmental unit. 

Desirable qualifications and personal traits include: familiarity with municipal governance; leadership and managerial experience; enthusiasm and consensus-building; personal support and commitment to the goals and successful growth of the South Metro Fire Department.

Interested individuals are encouraged to submit an application by 4:30 p.m., Wednesday, January 3, 2024.  Click here to download the Board of Directors Public Membership Application.  Completed applications shall be submitted by email to   If no access to email, please mail or deliver in person the application to the address below.  All applications must be received by 4:30 p.m. on January 3rd.

For more information please contact:
Mark Juelfs, Fire Chief
(651) 552-4171
1650 Humboldt Ave.
West St. Paul, MN 55118

Posted: 12/19/2023